Beginning the Journey

Buna ziua! I can’t believe it has been just a week since I stepped off the plane (where I had an exit row to myself, I might add) in Bucharest and made the drive back to Galati! So much has happened in 7 days! One of the highlights has been walking into the Word Made Flesh Community center and seeing the kids, some that I met as for back as 4 years ago and some new faces, and seeing the staff that have become dear friends. The picture you see to your left is Elena, one of the girls I met 4 years ago who just turned 12 and is doing well and is always full of joy!

After a few rich months with friends and family, I know I will miss home, especially with it being so close to Thanksgiving. But after stepping foot in this place that has come to mean so much to me, I know that I can make a home here too. We are going to have a Thanksgiving with the staff here, which I’m really excited about! I asked one of the staff members where I could get a good turkey for everyone, and he jokingly (I think) said that there was one across the fence in the neighbors yard we could probably use. It will be and adventure of a Thanksgiving to say the least.

Speaking of a home, Harper and I have an apartment! We found one within the first few days, and I love it! It’s about a 25 minute walk to the community center and it is located near the central market where we will be able to get fresh ingredients for dinner each night. It has 2 bedrooms, a great kitchen, and a long balcony that will be amazing in the warmer months (it’s freezing here right now!). It will be easy to have people over and have teams and guests stay with us when they come.

My Romanian friend Mircea has been so helpful with figuring out all of these details like talking to our landlady, figuring out utilities, how to get a working phone, and things like this that become so difficult when you cant communicate fully. The highly independent achiever in myself struggles with this sometimes, but it has taught me to ask for help and to see how God provides through community. This has made me much more empathetic to the difficulty many face when moving to a new place without speaking the language and having no community to surround them and help them.

I have begun my work at the center since last Friday and am already so excited about what is ahead. My day includes chapel with the staff, communicating with future teams, volunteers, interns, researching how to best do community development and discipleship with teams, playing and eating lunch with the children, and learning Romanian. This past week we have had our British friends Frank and John here to help expand the aquaponics system here at the center. They have taught me that if you haven’t tried sugar and milk with your tea, you are missing out!

These days have been full and I’m so thankful to be here, and so thankful for all of you who have shown me love and support these past few months. You are all in my prayers as well and I will talk to you soon! Please feel free to email me at any time, or send me a letter if that’s more your style (I love letters!)

Much love to all of you!

Mikayla

Praise/ Prayer

  • Flights went well and I arrived safely
  • I have found an apartment and have most logistics worked out for staying here
  • I have been so encouraged by seeing friends here and spending time with the kids
  • Pray that the children and their families would have the resources necessary for a cold winter ahead
  • Pray that the children continue to thrive physically, spiritually, emotionally, and socially.
  • Pray that I would be able to learn Romanian quickly in order to more fully communicate and create relationships here
  • Pray for continued peace and encouragement as I put roots down in this new place and begin feeling the distance from home
  • Pray for health among the staff
  • Pray for financial and prayer partners

Contact/ Donate

Snail Mail:

Mikayla Greenwell

O.P. 6 C.P 256

Galati, 800.760

Romania

 

Email:

Mikayla.greenwell@

wordmadeflesh.com

 

Donate: purecharity.com/Mikayla-greenwell-romania

Leave a comment